Herauts19-web-banner-english.png
 

Herauts

 

HERAUTS is a yearly, national conference organised by GBU Belgium for christian students at university or in their last year of secondary school. The aim of this conference is to motivate and equip students in their mission for Jesus.

GBU Belgium brings together students from different backgrounds who have one thing in common: they are passionate about living for Jesus and telling others about him.  A movement for students, by students, we seek to give each student in french-speaking Belgium the opportunity to hear and respond to the good news of Jesus.  Supported by staff and promoted by local churches, we work together in order to make disciples of the next generation.  For more information about GBU, click here (in French).

The goal of HERAUTS is to motivate, inspire and encourage International and French-speaking christian students from Belgium and elsewhere, with faithful and pertinent teaching from the Bible, so that they would be more rooted in the gospel, committed to walk closely with God, and resolved in their mission to spread the gospel and make disciples.

 

PROGRAM

Herauts-2019-program-ENG.png

mains sessions

Compassion-titre.png
 

Together, we will be listening to the message of Jonah. This is a little book about a “little” faraway prophet, of which many elements are well known (fleeing God’s call, a big fish, the wicked city of Nineveh,…), but which require that we reread them in their context in order to grasp their full significance. If there is one book that truly explains what God’s grace is like, and how it can transform our hearts, it’s the book of Jonah.

However, be careful! Although small, there is nothing trivial or boring about this book. On the contrary, it is highly provocative and challenging! Depicting Jonah at his “best”, this book reveals our hardness of heart. Before coming to Hérauts 2019, why not take time to read this little book, and ask yourself the following question: what is Jonah resisting?


SEMINARS

Seminar-1-title.png

Sometimes people think of Christians as from another planet, often with good reason. When we speak about Jesus, we do so in outdated language, with no connection to the modern world. However, it is crucial to communicate the gospel in such a way that they can understand it and therefore believe in Jesus in order to be saved! This seminar will help you to communicate the gospel in a clear, simple and pertinent way.

Seminar-2-title.png

Social media presents us with amazing opportunities for spreading the gospel, but there are also many pitfalls. How can we make the most of it and be a good witness for Christ?

Seminar-3-title.png

Many of you will soon be graduating and heading off to different workplaces. How can I best prepare myself for this new chapter of my life? What should my attitude be towards my future job, or towards my colleagues who don’t know Jesus? How shall I share my faith at work? This seminar aims to equip you to hold firmly on to Christ and to challenge you to seize opportunities that God will provide, in order to help you share the good news of Jesus at work.

 

contributors

 
 
Etienne K.jpg

Etienne koning

Etienne grew up in a Christian family where, over time, he came to know the God of the Bible particularly through seeing his parents live out a personal relationship with God. Through them he learnt to read the Bible and understand its central message, the gospel - the offer of forgiveness and of a perfect life that God gives to everyone who trusts in the person and work of Jesus Christ, His Son.

Through various commitments as well as being struck by different role models in the faith, Etienne is now in pastoral ministry with his wife Laurence and his three children. After studying at the Faculty of Vaux-sur-Seine, and after a significant one-year internship in a church in London, Etienne has been a pastor for 12 years and is now leading a church plant in the centre of Paris, Saint-Lazare Church.

 
 
 
Alex M.jpg

Alexandre manlow

Married to Sara, and farther of two children, Alex has been the director of GBU Belgium for 3 years, after serving as an assistant pastor in churches in Brussels and in Paris. He is passionate about giving the opportunity to as many students as possible to hear and respond to the gospel in order to be reconciled to God forever. He is also dedicated to support and equip Christian students in order to see them become disciple-makers who are faithful to Jesus during their time at university and for the rest of their lives. In his spare time, Alex likes watching films, going out coffee- and cake-tasting in new coffee shops, having good times around the table with family and friends, and playing tennis.

 
 
 
Tom T.jpg

Tom trump

Tom is the husband of Liz and the dad of Lucas. He is currently training at the Belgian Bible Institute in order to become a full-time minister of the Word, having previously worked in finance for 10 years. His passion is for the Word of God to be spread, read, explained, well understood and lived out everywhere so that many would come to Christ and become mature in Him. He is involved in a church plant called Emmanuel Etterbeek, and he is the director of one of the InterAction camps. When he isn’t training for ministry, Tom likes to spend time with family and friends, and he is a huge fan of the Premier League.

 
 
 
Andy G.jpg

Andy geers

Andy lives in London with his wife Elise and 3 young children. He has worked as a software developer for the past 14 years and now runs the PrayerMate app. He also helps run a community of Christians in the world of technology called Kingdom Code.

 
 
 
Jeroen et Hennie.png

JEROEN and HENNIE VALKENIER

Jeroen and Hennie come from the Netherlands and have been married for 10 years.  They were involved in
IFES-Netherlands as students and they have a heart for ministry amongst students.  Nowadays, they are committed to their local church which is a new church plant, whilst working in the secular world: Jeroen is a secondary school teacher, and Hennie is a researcher at the ULB, in Brussels.  Jeroen first trained as a chef, and worked in the industry for 6 years.  In their free time, Hennie and Jeroen both like cycling, walking and seeing friends or having them over.  It is with great joy that they will prepare gourmet sandwiches for those who will have ordered one. 

 
 
 

don't forget...

Don't forget to bring a Bible and some money to buy great Christian books that will be on sale for 30-50% of their RRP price!  All books have been carefully chosen and very kindly subsidised by various publishers and donors.  Make the most of this unique opportunity to buy some at student-friendly prices!

 

AdDress

220 Boulevard du Souverain

1160 Brussels

Metro line 5
Metro stop: Herrmann-Debroux

 
 

contact us

 
Name *
Name

Herauts19-web-banner.png
 

Herauts

 

HERAUTS est la convention annuelle pour les étudiants chrétiens du niveau supérieur et en rhéto organisée par les GBU de Belgique. Elle vise à motiver et équiper les étudiants dans leur mission pour Jésus.
 

Les GBU (Groupes Bibliques Universitaires) rassemblent des étudiants de tout horizons qui ont une chose en commun : ils sont passionnés de vivre pour Jésus et le proclamer autour d'eux. Un mouvement pour les étudiants, par les étudiants, nous cherchons à donner à chaque étudiant en Belgique francophone l'occasion d'entendre et de répondre à la Bonne Nouvelle de Jésus. Soutenus par le staff et promus par les Eglises locales, nous sommes en mission pour faire des disciples dans la prochaine génération. Pour plus d'informations sur les GBU, cliquez ici.
 

HERAUTS a pour but de motiver et inspirer les étudiants chrétiens Belges et d'ailleurs à partir d'un enseignement fidèle et pertinent de la Bible pour qu'ils soient encore plus enracinés dans l'Evangile, résolus dans leur marche avec le Seigneur, et équipés dans leur mission de disciples faiseurs de disciples. 

 

PROGRAMME

Herauts-2019-programme.png

SeANCES PLeNIeRES

Compassion-titre.png
 

Nous allons ensemble écouter le message du livre de Jonas. Un petit livre d’un « petit » prophète lointain, dont quelques éléments souvent connus (la fuite de l’appel de Dieu, le gros poisson, la méchante ville de Ninive…), mais qui méritent qu’on les relise dans leur contexte, pour en saisir la portée. S’il est un texte qui nous explique si bien à quoi ressemble la grâce de Dieu, et le travail qu’elle accomplit dans un cœur, c’est bien le livre de Jonas !

Mais attention, avertissement : ce livre n’a rien d’anodin et de banal, qu’on pourrait lire comme on lit les journaux… c’est même un texte à haut-risque ! En nous dépeignant Jonas dans toute sa « splendeur », il dévoile aussi beaucoup de notre dureté ! Pourquoi ne pas déjà lire ce petit prophète avant de venir à Hérauts 2019, en vous posant la question : à quoi Jonas résiste-t-il ?


ATELIERS AU CHOIX

Atelier-1-titre.png

Il se peut que nos amis nous considèrent parfois comme des extraterrestres, et ceci avec raison : on leur parle souvent de Jésus avec un langage archaïque qui ressemble plus à du charabia qu’autre chose. Pourtant, c’est crucial de bien communiquer l’Evangile pour qu’ils puissent bien nous comprendre et croire en Jésus pour être sauvés ! Ce séminaire vise à vous équiper pour mieux communiquer l’Evangile de manière simple, claire et pertinente.

Atelier-3-titre.png

Les réseaux sociaux nous offrent des opportunités en or pour propager l’Evangile. Mais ils présentent aussi de nombreux pièges. Comment s’en servir le mieux possible tout en étant de bons témoins de Jésus ?

Atelier-2-titre.png

Bon nombre d’entre vous vont bientôt terminer vos études pour vous plonger dans le monde du travail. Comment me préparer au mieux pour ce nouveau chapitre important de ma vie ? Quelle devrait être mon attitude par rapport à mon job, ou avec mes collègues qui ne connaissent pas Jésus ? Comment partager ma foi au bureau ? Cet atelier vise à nous équiper à tenir fermement à Christ et à nous mettre au défi pour saisir les opportunités que Dieu nous donne pour témoigner de la bonne nouvelle de Jésus au travail.

 

intervenants

 
 
Etienne K.jpg

etienne koning

Etienne est né dans une famille chrétienne, et c'est dans ce contexte que qu’il a petit à petit fait la connaissance du Dieu de la Bible, encouragé par le témoignage personnel et vivant de ses parents. Ce sont eux qui lui ont appris à lire et à comprendre la Bible et son message central, l’Évangile : l'offre de pardon et de vie parfaite que Dieu offre à quiconque place sa confiance dans la personne et l'œuvre de Jésus-Christ son Fils.

Au fil de ses divers engagements (notamment au sein de la Ligue pour la Lecture de la Bible), grâce aussi à des modèles de vie et de foi qui ont marqué sa vie, Etienne s’est engagé dans le ministère pastoral avec Laurence, sa femme et leurs 3 enfants. Après des études à la faculté de Vaux sur Seine et une année de stage décisive dans une Église du centre de Londres, Etienne est pasteur depuis 12 ans et conduit maintenant l’implantation d’une nouvelle Église au centre de Paris, l’Église Saint-Lazare.

 
IMG_7981.jpg
 

alexandre manlow

Marié avec Sara, et père de deux enfants, Alex est le directeur des GBU de Belgique depuis 3 ans après avoir servi en tant que pasteur assistant dans une Eglise de Paris et dans une Eglise de Bruxelles. Il a à coeur de voir un maximum d’étudiants entendre et répondre à la bonne nouvelle de Jésus pour qu’ils soient réconciliés avec Dieu pour toujours, et de soutenir et d’équiper les étudiants chrétiens pour qu’ils soient des faiseurs de disciples fidèles à Jésus pendant leurs études et pour le reste de leur vie ! Dans son temps libre, Alex aime regarder des films, boire du bon café, manger des bons repas avec sa famille et ses amis, et jouer au tennis.

 
Tom T.jpg

tom trump

Epoux de Liz et père d’un petit Lucas, Tom se forme actuellement à l’Institut Biblique Belge en vue d’un ministère de la Parole à temps plein après avoir travaillé dix ans dans la finance. Il a une passion pour que la Parole de Dieu soit répandue, lue, expliquée et bien comprise et puis vécue partout, afin que les uns et les autres viennent à Christ et deviennent matures en Lui. Il est impliqué dans une implantation d’église du nom d’Emmanuel Etterbeek et est directeur d’un des camps InterAction. Quand il ne se forme pas au ministère, il aime passer du temps en famille et avec des amis et est un grand fan de la Premier League.

 
andy_christmas_cardy.jpg

andy geers

Andy habite à Londres avec sa femme Elise et ses trois enfants. Il a travaillé en tant que développeur de logiciels pendant 14 ans et maintenant il gère l’application pour smartphone PrayerMate dont il est aussi le créateur. De plus, il est un des responsables de Kingdom Code, une communauté de chrétiens qui travaillent dans le monde de la technologie.


 
Jeroen et Hennie.png

JEROEN ET HENNIE VALKENIER

Jeroen et Hennie viennent des Pays-Bas et sont mariés depuis 10 ans. Ils étaient engagés aux GBU en tant qu'étudiants et ont à cœur le ministère en leur faveur. Aujourd'hui, ils sont engagés à fond dans leur Eglise locale qui est une nouvelle implantation, en plus d'exercer un métier : Jeroen est professeur dans une école secondaire, Hennie est chercheuse à l'ULB. Jeroen a une formation en tant que chef cuisinier, et a travaillé dans ce domaine pendant 6 ans. Durant leur temps libre, Hennie et Jeroen aiment tous les deux faire du vélo, se promener en nature et (rece)voir des amis. C'est avec joie qu'ils prépareront des sandwichs gourmets pour tous les participants de HÉRAUTS qui en auront commandés.